Online Learning Resources

Fun and Educational Resources for Online Learning

Art and Crafts

Dav Pilkey at Home- https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/dav-pilkey-at-home/

Learn to draw Dav Pilkey’s characters and watch fun videos.

 

Seussville Crafts- https://www.seussville.com/activities/crafts/

Crafts and activities based on Dr. Seuss characters and stories.

 

Distance Learning Resources and Lesson Plans

Google Teach From Home- https://teachfromhome.google/intl/en/
Tools and information to assist educators with learn from home programs.

 

PBS Learning Media- https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/collection/emergency-closings-collection/

Lesson plans, learning activities, and distance learning resources for grades PreK-12.

 

PBS Parents- https://www.pbs.org/parents/

Resources, tips, and advice for parents.

 

Scholastic- https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Access to Scholastic books with learning activities presented in a daily context per grade level.

 

Teach Rock- https://teachrock.org/distancelearning/

Lesson plans that use music to facilitate learning in social studies, geography, language arts, science, and more. Read about Teach Rock’s partnership with Orangethorpe Elementary School: https://teachrock.org/teachrock-partner-school-program-begins/

 

Learning Games and Activities

Ology- https://www.amnh.org/explore/ology

American Museum of Natural History’s science website for kids. Includes information, videos, learning activities, and games.

 

Highlights Kids- https://www.highlightskids.com/

Activities, recipes, jokes, games, hidden pictures, and exploration of interesting subjects.

 

Math Snacks- https://www.mathsnacks.com/index.html

Educational animations, games, and interactive tools that help mid-school learners better understand math concepts.

 

NASA Kids' Club- https://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html

Space themed games and activities.

 

National Geographic for Kids- https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/
Science resource that features animals, geography, and more.

 

PBS- https://pbskids.org/

Videos and games from Public Television.

 

Sesame Street- https://www.sesamestreet.org/

Games, videos, and art featuring Sesame Street characters geared toward preschoolers.

 

Online Story Times

Brightly Storytime - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvQagFNHMrGgQpYunk4rHXg/featured 

Picture book readings presented in partnership with Penguin Random House.

 

Explore LeVar’s Universe - https://levarburton.com/ 

LeVar Burton of Reading Rainbow reads live stories for different age levels.

 

Good Night with Dolly - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0MpwxxTbrBOz1g1X-BynUA

A weekly read-aloud by Dolly Parton.

 

Oliver Jeffers -  https://www.oliverjeffers.com/books#/abookaday/

Author Oliver Jeffers reads his picture books.

 

Pete the Cat Club Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/petethecatofficial/

Author James Dean reads his Pete the Cat books and provides drawing lessons and other activities.

 

Field Trips

National Theatre in London- https://www.youtube.com/user/ntdiscovertheatre/about  

A weekly streamed production from the National Theatre in London.

 

Louvre Museum- https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne

Visit the museum's exhibition rooms and galleries.   

 

 Free Learning Apps

Footsteps2Brilliance- https://www.myf2b.com/parent_wizard/get_started/buenapark

A comprehensive English and Spanish literacy app that can be used on any mobile device with or without an Internet connection.

 

Khan Academy Kids- https://learn.khanacademy.org/khan-academy-kids/

Fun and free educational app for children ages two to seven.

 

Scratch Jr. https://www.scratchjr.org/

Educational app that makes coding exciting and fun for kids.