Magazines-Newspapers Databases

Explora for Elementary Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for elementary school children. Designed for elementary school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. 

Explora for Middle Schools logo

A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 6-8. Explora for Middle School gives students their first real experience with the power of an online research database. In addition to magazine and journal articles, newspaper articles, and reference book articles, Explora includes primary source documents and media broadcast transcripts. 

Explora for Public Libraries

Explora for Public Libraries is EBSCO’s interface designed for public library patrons. Users can browse topics of interest or search for a topic of their choice. A simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents. Replaces MasterFILE Premier.

Home Improvement Reference Center

EBSCO presents the definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. Home Improvement Reference Center is a  comprehensive resource that contains 24 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images (none found available online anywhere else). Additionally, the database contains nearly 100 videos of popular home repair projects, a convenient A-Z browsing tool, and full-text magazines such as This Old House.

New York Times Online

Get direct access to the New York Times online from 1851 to the present. 

For Onsite Access (using a library computer or accessing the Internet through the library's Wi-Fi), click here

For Offsite Access (anywhere outside the library network), click here for an access code

Please note that access codes only last 24 hours and must be requested each day before accessing the New York Times online.

The New York Times will ask you to create an account with your personal email address, or “Log In” if you already have created an account.

NewsBank Icon

NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.  Easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula.  Aligned with state standards and targeting all subject areas, NewsBank’s school-focused solutions include primary sources and inquiry-based projects that support learning, enhance research and help develop critical thinking skills.

Orange County Register

Search more than 30 years of Orange County history with the Orange County Register Collection.  Coverage from 1987 through current.  Explore current and archived issues of the Orange County Register with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.  Updated daily, the Orange County Register Collection includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.


eLibrary (grades 6-12) delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer (grades 3-9) is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in Primary and early Secondary schools. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible  through easy-to-follow search and browse options

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher (grades 6-12) delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analyses and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, videos, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.