Encyclopedias Databases

Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar is the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish.

Britannica Escolar es el principal recurso de desarrollo de conocimiento en el que se confía universalmente para contenido preciso y apropiado para la edad en español.

Britannica School

Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

Explora for Elementary Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for elementary school children. Designed for elementary school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. 

Explora for Middle Schools logo

A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 6-8. Explora for Middle School gives students their first real experience with the power of an online research database. In addition to magazine and journal articles, newspaper articles, and reference book articles, Explora includes primary source documents and media broadcast transcripts. 

Explora for Public Libraries

Explora for Public Libraries is EBSCO’s interface designed for public library patrons. Users can browse topics of interest or search for a topic of their choice. A simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents. Replaces MasterFILE Premier.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks features encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

CultureGrams

Culturegrams™ (grades K-12) is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.

eLibrary (grades 6-12) delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files