Childrens Databases

AtoZ Maps Online

AtoZ Maps Online consists of more than 145,000 maps—static maps, animated maps, real-time maps, scientific maps, and historic maps—all in one place. Royalty-free. Students, teachers, library patrons, and administrators may use images freely in non-commercial applications, with most of the maps available for download in jpg, tiff, and PDF formats.

Book Connections

Book Connections is a companion to Teaching Books with a collection of 174,000+ digital materials about books for children and teens. Book Connections includes a reader's advisory tool, resources for homework help and homeschool support, summer reading and diverse book selections, and more.

Professional & Adult access

  1. Go to BookConnections.org/login
  2. Enter your work email, click 'Sign In,' and follow the prompts***

***Note: this access also works for TeachingBooks.

Access for Readers under 18

  1. Go to BookConnections.org
  2. Click 'Sign In' and enter your library card and state
Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar is the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish.

Britannica Escolar es el principal recurso de desarrollo de conocimiento en el que se confía universalmente para contenido preciso y apropiado para la edad en español.

Britannica School

Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

Explora for Elementary Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for elementary school children. Designed for elementary school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. 

CultureGrams

Culturegrams™ (grades K-12) is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.

eLibrary (grades 6-12) delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files

Research Companion

ProQuest Research Companion (grades 8-12) is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and educators to focus on teaching the more complex research and writing principles.

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer (grades 3-9) is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in Primary and early Secondary schools. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible  through easy-to-follow search and browse options

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher (grades 6-12) delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analyses and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, videos, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.

TeachingBooks Logo

TeachingBooks is a database of resources for children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators. Use TeachingBooks to search titles, authors and illustrators, and find resources to engage readers. The resource collection includes short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more.

Sign in to TeachingBooks by entering the following username and password:

username: buenapark

password: teachingbooksK12library

TumbleBooks Icon

TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. TBL also includes National Geographic videos and games.